Two days before i was changing my -inx operating system in my laptop…i was changing the os from ubuntu to fc11..my laptop also had windows vista in another partition….every thing went well till the booting time…when i entered into fc11it was working perfectly okay except my bluetooth headset which it was not able to detect…thats okay for me coz i already have the solution for that..(that will be my topic for the next blog)…

But when i tried to enter into windows it was showing some error “BOOTMGR is missing… Press Ctrl+Alt+Del to restart” eventhough i press the much famed ctrl+alt+del key combination it was not helping my cause…i.e. it still showed the error…

i tried my hand with reinstalling the windows vista…it also didn’t help…but in turn made my -inx partition as free space….

so after numerous attempt i was possible to find the solution for this…

if that problem occurs don’t panic…

there are mainly two methods to get rid of the problem

1) boot your computer with windows vista recovery/installation CD and go to repair options…then click on the command prompt option..in the command prompt type “bootrec /fixboot” or “bootrec /rebuidbcd”

2) if the problem still persists as in my case…just boot up into the -inx which ever u have installed..

in the console type ‘fdisk -l’ you should see just like the picture given below..

fdisk -l

just check for the partition having “*” as you can see in my case one will be windows and one will be for linux…here get the partition number for linux (i.e. just count from the first partition starting from 0) …

check your ‘/boot/grub/menu.lst’ for the corresponding windows entry…check whether the partition  number is correct as per the value calculated by you…

that’s it…

Happy Programming….N’Joy…

